Zombie – Zora Neale Hurston

In the 13th chapter of Zora Neale Hurston’s book, “Tell My Horse: Voodoo and Life in Haiti and Jamaica”, we read about what seems to be the beginning of a zombie apocalypse. Using different Haitian customs, traditions, and stories, Hurston is able to explain what, “the whole truth and nothing else but the truth about Zombies”. The most interesting part of the formulation of the chapter to me is the way Hurston, progresses throughout the chapter. In the beginning, Hurston explains the fear of the zombie and goes through to explain the transformation, the Bocor’s job, the sacrifice, the certain death, and lastly different examples and stories believed by the people. 

The reader can clearly feel the passion that Huston puts in her work. In my opinion, I think Hurston believes and practices this and that’s why the chapter is very specific and convincing. I myself do not know what to believe because I am all for, different traditions and practices and I am always curios to learn but I am always unsure of what to believe and what separates fact and beliefs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment